the provincial Department of Education and both receive provincial grants. In Ontario, but not in the other two provinces, legal provision for separate schools does not extend beyond Grade 10.

In the three Maritime Provinces and Manitoba there is no legal provision for separate schools. However, within the public school systems of these provinces, there are Englishlanguage and French-language Roman Catholic schools in areas that have large English or French Roman Catholic populations, such as St. Boniface in Manitoba and Edmundston in New Brunswick. On the other hand, the public school system of British Columbia makes no provision for any type of denominational schools. Any such schools in this province must operate as parochial or private schools.

In Quebec, public elementary and secondary schools are controlled by the Roman Catholic and Protestant Committees of the Council of Public Instruction. In this province, Catholic and Protestant school systems exist side by side from the Department down, each relatively independent of the other. To some extent, the Catholic system follows the French tradition of education while the Protestant system follows the English tradition and is very similar to the Ontario system. Private or independent schools play a much more prominent role in Quebec than in other provinces. Chief among these are the classical colleges, which number nearly a hundred. Affiliated to the French-language universities (Laval, Montreal and Sherbrooke), they offer an eight-year course, entered after completion of elementary school and leading in two four-year stages, secondary and college, to the baccalaureate degree.

Newfoundland might be said to have a public denominational school system. Each of the five major religious denominations in the province—Roman Catholic, Anglican, United Church, Salvation Army and Pentecostal Assemblies—operates its own schools under a superintendent of education who is responsible to the Deputy Minister of Education. The Minister of Education, the Deputy Minister and the five superintendents form a Council of Education which decides on policy and co-ordinates the various parts of the system. One curriculum serves the schools of all denominations. Teachers receive common training in the Memorial University of Newfoundland, a provincial institution.

Local School Organization.—Within the framework of each provincial jurisdiction and regulation, public education is administered by local education authorities operating under a school Act. These school boards or boards of education are responsible for establishing and maintaining schools, employing qualified teachers, providing pupil transportation where needed, and budgeting for the money required to operate the schools, which is raised through local taxation. Local boards may be elected, appointed, or partly elected and partly appointed. They differ in number of members from three in the case of most small rural units to five, seven, or even twelve or more for urban units. Where larger units in rural areas have been established, there are central boards for the units representing the component districts, although there may be local boards retaining some custodial and advisory duties.

The larger unit, replacing rural districts which were usually about four miles in extent, has been introduced by legislation in several provinces and made optional in others in an effort to provide better school facilities and greater equalization of costs and to mitigate the problems caused by a chronic shortage of teachers. Larger units have been established by legislation in Alberta and British Columbia and by Acts with provision for local option in Saskatchewan and the Maritime Provinces. Southern Ontario has been gradually organizing its rural areas into township and county units; Manitoba has recently introduced legislation leading to the formation of larger units of administration for secondary schools;